Alumni Weekend 2016

1961 Cake

It was a beautiful weekend to return to Framingham State to meet up with classmates and fellow alumni. The Class of 1961 held a meet and greet on Friday afternoon and an evening gathering following the 50th Reunion Society Reception. Members of the Class of 1961 prepared gift bags for classmates decorated with the Framingham State College seal in use when they graduated. Souvenir chocolates from Nancy Murphy Hatch ’61, owner of Annadore Chocolates were served.

Members of the Class of 1966 were easy to pick out with their elegant nametags provided by noted calligrapher Gerry Jackson Kerdok ’66 who led the reunion organizing committee. Gerry had a calligraphy piece on exhibit for Alumni Weekend that was juried into the exhibit “Words for the Journey” at the Washington National Cathedral in March and chosen for their publications.

On Saturday morning IAFSA held its annual meeting with the Celebrating Classes as honored guests. Two members of the Class of 2016 were in attendance and were presented with the Marion Cronan and Dr. Meier Awards. Mary Fitzmaurice Penny ’61 received the Touch the Future Award honoring educators. Mary and Class of 1961 members officiated in a ribbon cutting ceremony to officially open the Christa Corrigan McAuliffe ’70: Teacher, Astronaut, Hero exhibit at Alumni House. Mary Kenney Liscombe ’70, Director Emerita of the McAuliffe Center, gave a talk about Christa’s Legacy as part of the meeting.

During their reunion gatherings and the IAFSA Annual Meeting, the Class of 1961 held a raffle for a quilt to benefit the Class of 1961 Textbook Assistance Award Fund. The Award was established in May of 2011 at the Class’ 50 th reunion. The Class asked IAFSA to hold and administer the fund and accept applications for awards. Each year since then several classmates have sent in donations to IAFSA for the fund. Since 2011 a committee has met at Alumni House to review the applications. Thanks to the generosity of the Class of 1961 to date 27 students have been helped by Textbook awards, three of them memorial awards. During the IAFSA Annual Meeting Class of 1961 Treasurer Pauline Reardon Drew presented a check for $10,000 to IAFSA President Anne Ferrari-Greenberg ’97, to be added to the Class of 1961 Textbook Assistance Award Fund.

FSU Alumni Achievement Award recipients included three from celebrating classes: Joan Murtaugh ’61, Jaune Quick-To-See Smith ’76, and Mary-Ellen Meegan ’66. Smith was unable to attend the Awards Luncheon.

During afternoon tea gatherings, the Classes of 1966 and 1961 received souvenir cups and saucers, courtesy of FSU.

At the Remembrance Ceremony at the Ecumenical Center “Amazing Grace” was played on the new sound system that was donated by IAFSA and the carillon bells, also donated by IAFSA, thanks to alumni donations, were rung. (The carillon was dedicated to the memory of Christa Corrigan McAuliffe ’70 in 2014.)

Alumni House was open Friday and Saturday for alumni to meet up, relax, and explore the new exhibit, yearbooks, and memorabilia.

Tea Cup gift for Class of 1961reminiscingrelaxing at Alumni HouseRefreshments for Annual Meetingrefreshments and silver

quilt raffle and exhibit sign

Meier Recipient

Mary-Ellen Meegan '66Mary Penny - Touch the Future recipient

Marilyn and Mary

Joan Murtaugh '61

IAFSA members

Helen Miller '46

Gift bags for Class of 1961

Exhibit ribboncutting

Cronan Recipient

Class of 1966

Class of 1966 2

Class of 1961 Textbook Award gift

Class of 1961 Memorabilia


Alumni Achievement Recipients

Calligraphy nametag

visiting Alumni House